Ross G. Harrison Award

The Ross G. Harrison Award was established in 1981 to recognize scientists whose contributions have significantly advanced the field of developmental biology, and has come to be acknowledged as the premier recognition of achievement in the field. The Ross G. Harrison Medal is awarded once every four years at a ceremony at the ISDB Congress. The recipient of the Ross G. Harrison Award delivers a lecture at the ISDB meeting and is presented with the Ross G. Harrison Medal. The first Ross G. Harrison Award was awarded in 1981 to Donald D. Brown for his molecular approach to the elucidation of developmental mechanisms in the African clawed frog, Xenopus laevis.

The Ross G. Harrison Medal 
The medal shows an image of Ross Granville Harrison (1870-1959), based on a picture of Harrison (courtesy of Judy Cebra-Thomas and Scott Gilbert) on one side, and pictures of cells taken from a paper by Harrison (Harrison (1910) The outgrowth of the nerve fiber as a model of protoplasmic movement. J Exp Zool, 9: 787-846) on the other side. Ross Granville Harrison is credited as the first to successfully grow cells in vitro and by making important contributions to embryology and the symmetries during limb development, using Ambystoma punctatum (salamander, in the picture). The medal was designed by Claudio Stern (ISDB president 2010-2013).


Marianne Bronner


Claudio Stern


Janet Rossant


Edward M. De Robertis


Elliot Meyerowitz 


Masatoshi Takeichi


Nicole Le Douarin


Pieter Nieuwkoop


Tokindo S. Okada


Sir John Gurdon


Viktor Hamburger and Donald Brown